Welcome to Our Web Site
Thank you for coming to the Austonio Baptist Church website. We serve the Austonio, Crockett and surrounding areas.
To be a dynamic spiritual organism empowered by the Holy Spirit to share Christ with as many people as possible in our church, community and throughout the world.
To be a worshipping fellowship, experiencing an awareness of God and responding in obedience to God’s leadership.
To experience an increasingly meaningful fellowship with God and fellow believers.
To help people experience a growing knowledge of God and man.
To be a church which ministers unselfishly to persons in the community and the world in Jesus’ name.
To be a church whose purpose is to be Christ like in our daily living by emphasizing total commitment of life, personality and possessions to the lordship of Christ.
Austonio Baptist Church was organized in 1930 with 47 charter members. Known Charter members were: Mr. George Jeffus, Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Morgan, Mrs. Lottie Galloway, and Mr. and Mrs. Jim Gladden.
Rev. Hill was pastor at the time. The church met for sometime in the Community Center Building at Austonio. Some of the charter members were the families of J. D. Carlisle, George Taylor, Bennie Pearson, Cal Haley, Sudie Hester, Mrs. Floyd Fuller, Mrs. Lena Hiroms, Herman Henry, Julius Wedemeyer, and maybe members of the Allee Family. Later the Calvin Johnson’s, T. W. Wright, George Jeffus, the Morgan’s and the Maple’s families and others. We are unsure of the listing because the church records burned when Mr. Wright’s house burned. Mr. Wright was church clerk at the time.
Prior to 1930, the church met in the community house, owned by the community. The Church begin plans to purchase the community house building. After much hard work they still lacked about $450.00 getting enough to pay off the indebtedness. Three of the local citizens gave the balance to pay off this indebtedness; W. E. Rikard, J. B. Coon, and George Rucker. A few years later a loan was secured to build the present brick structure. The loan was paid off in the mid 1960s. Rev. Joe Gilchrist was pastor at that time.
The Church was first named Grand Central Baptist Church. The name was submitted by George Taylor. The church went by that name until plans were formulated to change the name of the post office from Creek to Austonio. At that time they decided to change the name of the church.